Race Meeting Cancellation

END-OF-SEASON MEETING, SUNDAY 20TH OCTOBER

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news yet again! I’ve been up to Braxted today to make an assessment of conditions and, hopefully, to cut the grass. Even I, as the “Club Optimist”, was dubious before I got there! To say that conditions are not good would be an understatement. It is going to be impossible to even attempt to drive onto the field as there are very deep ruts full of water at the entrance, and heavy machinery going to and fro across the field has compounded the problem. Added to this, the whole field and track is extremely wet and ‘squelchy’ under foot and the track full of worm casts! Unfortunately, at this time of year if there has been rain the water table is so high that the field does not drain quickly enough – unlike the Summer months. With rain forecast over the weekend, the situation will only get worse.

After a good off-road season it’s a great shame to have to end on a sad note, but I’m afraid there is no option but to cancel Sunday’s Meeting. Nobody will thank MERCC if we try to go ahead and have problems before we even start. We will just have to accept that nature has beaten us in the end!

I will get the final points for the Braxted Series worked out, and these will be put on the website and Facebook. Trophies for the winners will be presented at the MERCC AGM on Saturday 4th January, or kept by until I see the drivers concerned. There are also many trophy labels to distribute. Ironically, I picked up a box of trophies this morning in readiness for Sunday!

I’m sure you will understand why I have had to make the decision to cancel Sunday’s Meeting – I was looking forward to it, and to winding up the season on a good note. I would like to thank all those members and non-members who have supported our Meetings throughout the 2013 season and look forward to seeing you racing at Braxted in 2014.
_________________
Keith Wright
Chairman, MERCC
www.facebook.com/merccuk

This entry was posted in Car, Essex, Model, Off Road, Racing, Radio Control. Bookmark the permalink.